Upper Wharfedale Heritage Group

The Upper Wharfedale Heritage Group (U.W.H.G.) was formed in 2005 and our membership currently stands at around 60. In 2008 we surveyed and excavated a corn drying kiln at Kilnsey. Currently we are conducting a landscape survey, desk based research and a botanical survey of the area east of Embsay reservoir around the former Whitfield Syke mill.
Members have been involved in producing a series of landscape surveys, in conjunction with Yorkshire Dales Landscape Research Trust, and also play a major part in the summer excavations at Chapel House Wood near Threshfield.
Outlines of the projects that we are, or have been, involved in can be viewed at: http://www.uwhg.org.uk/projects/projects.html
A programme of talks by guest lecturers operates during winter, spring and autumn and guided walks during the summer months.

Meetings and Activities

2012 WALKS & TALKS
During the year UWHG holds a series of walks, talks and visits covering a variety of archaeological topics
Indoor meetings are held at 19:30 in the Soroptomists Rooms, 28 Otley Street, Skipton.
Thurs 2rd Feb 19. 30 Talk
David Blackburn ‘The Buildings Preservation Trust movement’
Thurs 1st March 18:30 AGM (UWHG Committee & Members)
19.30 Talk
Jean Robinson ‘Raikes Road Burial Ground; a Victorian history of Skipton’
Thurs 5th April 19.30 Talk
Arnold Pacey ‘Dales field barns in context’
Sat 26th May TBA Walk
Dr Roger Martlew ‘Rough Haw’
Tues 19th June TBA Visit
The Folly, Settle
Thurs 5th July TBA Walk
Sue Wrathmell ‘Carleton-in-Craven’
Sat 15th Sept TBA Visit
Earby Lead Mining Museum
Thurs 4th Oct 19:30 Talk
John Cruse ‘Querns as indicators of Romano-British activity and Identity’
Thurs 1st Nov 19:30 Talk
Dr David Johnson ‘Droving; an introduction to an enduring trade’
Thurs 6th Dec 19.30 Talk
Mike Spence ‘The Craven granges of Fountains Abbey’

Contact

Upper Wharfedale Heritage Group
Email:
Website: http://www.uwhg.org.uk